La Flèche Wallonne

La Flèche Wallonne Logo
Event Date:
April 22, 2009
Charleroi, , Belgium
Created By:
Nancy, France
La Flèche Wallonne is a men's major professional cycle road race held in April each year in Belgium. The first of two Belgian Ardennes classics, La Flèche Wallonne (the Walloon Arrow) is today normally held mid-week between the Amstel Gold Race and Liège-Bastogne-Liège. At one time, La Flèche Wallonne and Liège-Bastogne-Liège were run on successive days as "Le Weekend Ardennais" (both races are organised by Amaury Sport Organisation). Only six riders have achieved the "Ardennes double" by winning both races in the same year: Ferdi Kubler twice (in 1951 and 1952), Stan Ockers (1955), Eddy Merckx (1972), Moreno Argentin (1991) Davide Rebellin (2004) and Alejandro Valverde (2006).

Event Details

Get Support